Automating ESX 4 Installs with the Ultimate Deployment Appliance

In preparation for a vSphere 4 upgrade project I was researching the best way to automate the ESX 4 builds. Even though this is an upgrade project from vCenter 2.5 and ESX 3.5 we have found it best to rebuild the hosts instead of upgrading them. The upgrades take longer and are not as clean as fresh installs.

With ESX 3.x for our larger clients we had used a third part tool called VPloyment from Repton. It seams that Repton is no longer around I was unable to find any information on VPloyment support for ESX 4.

Since VPloyment was not an option my first thought was to script the install using a kickstart script so did some research and found out that the install options set during a manual install of ESX 4 are in a kickstart script that is saved to /root/ks.cfg. I considered putting a kickstart script on a floppy disk image or USB key and then mounting the ESX ISO with the Dell DRAC to perform the automated install. I decided against this route because it wasn’t very efficient and I would have to have a different script for every server.

The other goal I wanted to achieve was to provide a better way around preventing the installer from wiping all the VMFS LUNs that the host is connected. For manual installs we pule the fiber cables or removing the LUNs from the host before the rebuild. With this automated approach I wanted to find a more efficient option.

Enter Mike Laverick and the Ultimate Deployment Appliance (UDA). I had heard about UDA a couple years ago but never took the time to try it out because we started using VPloyment and 90% of the ESX installs I do are less than 5 hosts.

I downloaded UDA 2 from http://www.ultimatedeployment.org/uda20beta.html and using Mike Laverick’s excellent guide http://www.rtfm-ed.co.uk/?page_id=366 I tested it out using VMware Workstation for the UDA and my test ESX 4 host.

Within 30 minutes I had configured UDA and performed an automated install of ESX 4.

One of the coolest features of UDA 2 are the subtemplates that let you create your own variables for things like hostnames and IP addresses. These allow you to have one kickstart script file for any number of hosts.

Here is a short video of an install of ESX 4 in a VMware Workstation VM.

http://goview.com/?id=1e5f67a7-4b84-4b56-962a-f4eec218c412

5 thoughts on “Automating ESX 4 Installs with the Ultimate Deployment Appliance

  1. Hi Jeremy,

    You must have a nice “advanced” script file for UDA by now. Any chance you’d be kind enough to share it offline (or online)?

    Thanks!
    Dustin

  2. Actually it is fairly generic because I use Host Profiles to do all of my post install configuration. I will email you it.

  3. hey i am unbale to login in service console and web access using credentials which i have given while installing UDA 2.0,
    ITS ANNOYING ME, so help me out plz

Leave a Reply

